Nagano Snow Monkeys 地獄谷 · THE TENTH-BATH GUIDE Book a tour

TOUR REVIEW · FROM NAGANO · 9 h

FREE CANCELLATIONRESERVE NOW & PAY LATER

Nagano: Togakushi Shrine & Jigokudani Snow Monkey Park Trip — two reviews, and a starting point that tells you who it is for

4.56 · 2 REVIEWS ON GETYOURGUIDE · LION TRAVEL JAPAN CO. LTD.

Nine hours from Nagano Station: a hundred minutes at the park, Togakushi’s Hōkōsha, and a sake brewery. The operator writes its own starting point in Chinese, which is the clearest signal on the page about who it is sold to.

FOR
Anyone who wants Togakushi and a brewery in the same day and does not need the commentary in English.
NOT FOR
Anyone who needs an English-speaking guide — the listing says «multiple guides» and nothing about language — and anyone who wants a sample size.
THE CATCH
Two reviews. At $175 (≈¥27,300) per person that is the least-evidenced booking in this catalogue, and the gate fee is not stated as included.
$180per person≈¥28,100 · snapshot 7 Sep 2026
Two Japanese macaques face to face in the steaming pool, the younger one grooming the older

Prices, scores and review counts are a snapshot of 7 Sep 2026 from the operator’s GetYourGuide listing. Converted at ¥156 = $1, the rate on that date. Itinerary durations are the operator’s own.

01

What the $180 (≈¥28,100) buys — and what it doesn’t

Entry paid at the gate

Both lists are the operator’s own.

INCLUDED

  • Round-trip transportation
  • Multiple guides

NOT INCLUDED

  • Personal expenses
  • Any guarantee the monkeys come down — park staff work to attract the monkeys during opening hours, but the monkeys may not show up at all on certain days
THE SAME DAY ON YOUR OWN

¥5,100 (≈$33) by train or ¥6,800 (≈$44) by express bus from Nagano Station, both including the ¥800 (≈$5.1) entry and the return — the park’s own totals. What that does not buy is the guide, the lunch or anything else on the list to the left.

$180 vs ¥5,100–6,800
02

What the operator does not publish about the day

No published breakdown

This is the section where the operator’s own itinerary is laid end to end and to scale. It is not drawn here, and the reason is the finding.

WHERE THE PAID DAY GOES · NOT PUBLISHED IN FULLD · NOT DRAWN

The published segments add to 4 h 20 against an advertised 9 h, so most of the day is not itemised. Every other figure on this page is the operator’s or the platform’s. This one would have to be ours, so it is not drawn.

03

What the scores say — three numbers, not one star

No sub-scores yet

GetYourGuide publishes the overall score across every review, and sub-scores once a listing has enough of them. Shown on a 4.0–5.0 scale so they can be told apart.

2 REVIEWS · OVERALL 4.56SUB-SCORES: NONE
WHY THE SCALES ARE MISSINGGetYourGuide publishes no guide / transport / value sub-scores for this tour. They appear only once a listing has enough reviews; with 2, the platform shows the overall score alone. We do not draw scales from numbers that do not exist.

THE SAMPLE2 reviews in total. That is too few to read anything from — no scales, no averages, no verdict on the crowd. Treat what follows as 2 people, not as a rating.147 OF THE 157 REVIEWS THE PLATFORM SHOWS FIRST ACROSS 21 TOURS HERE ARE FIVE-STAR

«"Big thanks to our guide, Colin Hou, for making our trip to Togakushi and the Snow Monkey Park so memorable. He was incredibly helpful, friendly, and professional throughout the journey. The itinerary was perfect, and the whole experience was seamless. It was a 5-star trip in every way!"»
5 ★Yongwook · South Korea · February 20, 2026
«A wonderful trip to two of the main attractions in Nagano: Snow Monkey Park and Togakushi Shrine. Unlike the Zenkoji Temple, the Togakushi Shrine is harder to reach by public transport, which is why this combination was very important to me when booking. Pin was a great tour guide (5/5 stars) and knew a lot about the s»
4 ★GetYourGuide traveler · Germany · December 24, 2025

underlined = the caveat inside the review, kept on purpose

04

Who this tour isn’t for — in the operator’s own words

Read before booking
1

For tours with fewer…

For tours with fewer participants, the driver will also serve as an attendant to provide tour services throughout the trip

2

Since monkeys are wild…

Since monkeys are wild animals, we cannot guarantee that there will be monkeys in the hot springs during the tour

3

Please note that this…

Please note that this tour involves walking in snowy areas for an extended period of time, so it is recommended to wear snow-appropriate footwear to prevent slipping

4

Winter Notice: From approximately…

Winter Notice: From approximately January 7 to late April, the Okusha (Upper Shrine) is closed. Visits are limited to Zuishinmon Gate

06

Is it worth it? And 4 more honest answers

Is the $180 (≈¥28,100) per person tour worth it?

Against ¥5,100–6,800 (≈$33–44) for the same journey alone, it buys round-trip transportation, multiple guides. 2 reviewers rate it 4.56.

How much time is spent with the monkeys?

The operator does not publish a segment breakdown for this tour, so this page does not state one.

Is the park entry included?

No. Adults pay ¥800 (≈$5.1) and children ¥400 (≈$2.6) at the gate on the day.

Are the monkeys guaranteed?

No. Park staff work to attract the monkeys during opening hours, but the monkeys may not show up at all on certain days; appearances are particularly sporadic in autumn — no operator and no price changes that.

Are the reviews on this page representative?

There are only 2 reviews in total, which is too few to read a crowd from. Treat them as 2 people.

If the shape of the day suits you, this is where to book it — live dates and the operator’s own calendar, at the price above.

LIVE DATES · $180 (≈¥28,100) · 9 HOURS · 4.56 / 2

Powered by GetYourGuide

The time at the pool, and everything the day wraps around it

That is the product. If it is the day you want, 2 people before you rated it 4.56. If you want the park to be the whole day, the itineraries page has a plan for that.

Check dates, $180

ALL 21 TOURS · FOUR PLANS BY BED · THE PARK ITSELF

$180 (≈¥28,100) · Togakushi Shrine & Jigokudan · 4.6 (2) · ¥800 (≈$5.1) at the gate

Check dates & book